A Personal Trainer’s Daily Meals (AKA “A day in the life”)

One of my most favorite questions from family, friends and clients is:

What do you eat, exactly? Can you break it down for me?

I usually tell people that I eat relatively the same thing every day, with minor adjustments. I save space for my cheat meal on the weekend but I find that a consistent diet of the same foods keeps me on track. It also reduces my chances of eating things that are bad for me. Besides, if you hate to cook, like I do, you can make large portions of some of these things and have them ready to simply warm up and eat!

In this post I will give you a typical day’s worth of meals and show you that to be fit, you don’t need a lot of time and money.

Breakfast: Egg white omelette, turkey bacon and instant oats

  • 1 cup liquid egg whites
  • 1 whole egg
  • 4 chopped asparagus spears
  • 1 chopped mushroom
  • ¼ cup chopped peppers
  • ¼ cup shredded Parmesan cheese
  • 1 slice organic turkey bacon
  • ½ to 1 cup of plain instant oats

Pour egg whites and whole egg into a bowl. Stir. Chop asparagus, mushroom and peppers. Pour egg whites and egg into skillet. Put asparagus, mushroom, peppers and shredded cheese in egg whites. Fold into omelette. Serve with turkey bacon and oats.

Snack: Greek yogurt, chopped fruit and almonds

  • 1 cup Greek Yogurt
  • ¼ cup roasted almonds
  • ¼ cup fruit of your choice (I prefer bananas)

Simply pour 1 cup of Greek Yogurt into a bowl, mix with almonds and fruit. Then eat. Or, eat yogurt in container mixed with almonds and fruit separately.

Lunch/Pre-workout meal: Chicken breast, broccoli & brown rice

  • 1 Chicken breast
  • ½ cup broccoli
  • ½ to 1 cup brown rice

I like to cook several chicken breasts at once. This way, I’ll have them available for several days. I also prefer frozen vegetables and rice so I can microwave the entire meal at once.

Post-Workout Meal: Protein shake

  • 1 packet Shakeology
  • ½ to 1 cup of whole milk    or
  • 2 scoops of Protein Powder of your choice
  • Fruit of your choice
  • ½ to 1 cup milk

Currently I am using Shakeology as my post-workout shake

http://myshakeology.com/ReggieGooden

I find that it has all of the natural ingredients that I need to quickly flood my body with nutrients after a workout. I use milk and add one scoop of BCAA’s (Branch Chain Amino Acids) because my weightlifting workouts can be intense. The average person won’t need to do that. Just make sure you get a fair amount of protein and carbohydrates in your system immediately after exercise.

Dinner: Ground turkey, sweet potato, mixed veggies

  • 6 oz. ground turkey
  • 1 sweet potato
  • Mixed vegetables

As with the chicken breasts, I will also cook an entire package of ground turkey so that I will have multiple servings already prepared. Once cooked, poke holes in the sweet potato and microwave it. Also microwave frozen mixed vegetables.

Bedtime Snack: Chopped almonds and dark chocolate

  • ½ cup chopped almonds
  • 1 square dark chocolate

Technically this is not a meal but a bedtime snack. Since I live with a “choco-holic”, our house is usually never without the stuff. If you are also a “choco-holic “, then rejoice! Dark chocolate actually has many benefits when eaten in small quantities. It has antioxidants, can regulate blood sugar, lower blood pressure and is pretty rich in minerals. I’ll eat one square with a hand full of chopped almonds just so I can “slow” my metabolism slightly through the night.  If you don’t like chocolate (or fear having it around), then try a small portion (1/4 to ½ cup) of organic trail mix.

This is a typical day’s worth of food for me. It’s gotten me great results and I know that it can do the same for you! I am offering custom meal plans and training programs available for the rate of 2 personal training sessions. Contact me for details!

Dream Fit. Live Fit.

Leave a Reply

